Memories and some notes from KDE-Edu Sprint, 2013

I have been too sick for the last couple of days since I returned from the KDE-Edu Sprint 2013 which was held in A Coruna, Spain this year. Well, now I’m a little better and would like to talk about what a nice experience it had been.

I had no experience when it came to sprints, and I was expecting a lot of hacking and interesting discussions on KDE-Edu software. All these expectations were fulfilled as I did hack on Artikulate during my stay there; made a few commits after a long, long time and enjoyed it. Other than hacking on Artikulate, there were several discussion sessions through which I came to know of various KDE-Edu applications that I was not aware of and learned more about applications I already knew. Especially I had little idea that there were so many language learning applications in the KDE-Edu suite. Parley will surely be an application I shall be using. I also submitted two tasks got GCI this year from KStars, to improve upon my feature “What’s Interesting…” in KStars. Hope there would be students who would like to work on these tasks and I’m looking forward to some mentoring experience.

Post this sprint, I am going to continue my work with Artikulate which currently involves several changes to the UI to accommodate user profiles support currently being worked on by Andreas.

Since there were 7 people attending the sprint (Oindrila was not able to attend the sprint as her Visa was rejected.. again!), this was a nice opportunity to get to know KDE folks (Andreas,┬áSebastian, Albert, Aleix and Jose) I have met during Akademy 2013 in a better way. Also met Punit, who was travelling for the first time not only outside India, but also outside Gujarat – his home state. Also people got to know that I am a late riser, failing to come to breakfast on time every day! :-/

Like any other KDE event, this event was a great experience. Jose and the local support from GPUL was awesome. Also countless thanks to KDE e.V. for once again agreeing to fund my travel all the way from India. I have uploaded some of the pictures from the sprint on Flickr.

Cheers! :)

Leave a Reply

