39 hours after getting GSoC!

This reaction comes late; due to college examinations( :-| )… but YIPPIE! :D I’m a GSoCer now!

As already stated in my earlier blog post, my work proposal is for KStars, under KDE. It really feels nice having this opportunity to contribute a lot more to KStars again. I will be working alongside Rishab Arora who’ll be working on “Improving Data Storage, Logs and adding DSO catalogs to KStars”. KStars got 2 slots this year and KDE got 60; again awesome! :)

By the way, my plan is to “Make KStars more usable to beginner astronomers by adding ‘What’s Interesting…’ feature to KStars and by making ‘Star Hopping’ feature user-configurable”. This idea is something that has interested me for a long time now. Its time to actually code and implement it. Do have a look at my earlier blog post –> Applying for GSoC 2012 and my proposal on KStars for more details.

Also here is my proposal abstract –> http://www.google-melange.com/gsoc/project/google/gsoc2012/samxan/16001

Will start work as soon as my exams get over (which will be after the 1st week of May). Nevertheless, I’ll be staying in touch with the community until then. :)

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

